What kind of music to use when testing a speaker?

Don’t like to be a prayer mill, but using an equalizer to adjust a speaker is
a must.
For myself I have to push up the frequencies around 2kHz till 8kHz.

I’m normally listening to classical music.
But when testing a speaker I use
IRON BUTTERFLY : In a gadda vida.
A milestone of underground music in my old days.
Was about 1968. 50 years ago, but still a “hit”.
As times goes by. :cry:

The incredible drummer solo of good “Old Bushy” will really show you what the speaker is able to transmit.
The real pressure of bassdrum e.g.
I was a drummer in those days and I know this is really a true highlight which will be never forgotten.

Enjoy Pentecost, Pentecostes, Pfingsten!

3 Likes

State of consciousness and we are the vampires, both give the speaker a damned good lows n highs bash.

I’ll look up… Your … Old bushy!

1 Like

Give Radioheads National Anthem a play, if your speakers atone to the proper frequencies then it will be golden, and if not then you will know right away how horrid it can be

1 Like

Really depends on my mood I listen to just about everything but it’s hard to beat Santana brightest star off the zebop album or Red hot chili peppers blood sugar sex magic the whole album when testing a new speaker.

1 Like

I usually test out my speakers or headphones with techno music don’t like music with vocals so the more bass there is the better

3 Likes

Listen to the types of music you typically listen to, but find recordings that have the best sound quality to your ear. Do you have a good set of headphones and and amp? If so, find a few choice selections in your collection that have selections that repeatedly sound good to your ear and then use the same passage for trying stuff out.

While people can give you music suggestions all day long, it’s going to come down to what your ear can hear in the end.

1 Like

This is what I am talking about.