On changing careers

I’ll start a kind of different thread here. Not sure how to call it just yet, but it’s somewhat personal.

Those on the community who know me probably know I’m a marketing professional. Well, for some time I’ve been a reluctant one. My current job is underwhelming to say the least, and job searching for my field in Montreal is gruesome. After a few years of knocking on doors which never opened, I got some inside information on the reality of the marketing profession here, and what was already a though in the back of my head started to become a will. And, as of this last Friday, it has become a path: I’m changing careers.

A little history: I started my career as a copywriter in 2003, when I was still studying for my bachelor’s degree. After five years as an advertiser, I saw the opportunity to make a slight career move and migrate to marketing. Now, I have a post-grad diploma in marketing and over 10 years of experience. Still, I’m stagnated at an entry-level position in a small non-profit without any perspective of growth. And to add offence to the injury, the workplace is not the best. So, a couple of years ago, after long talks with my wife and a few friends, I’ve decided to pursue what was always my second choice at university: computer science.