My Amazon Review

My Roav C1

I am an engineer for an aerospace company. I like quality.
I am a Jeeper. I like things I can count on. When I’m offroading, I can’t have things fail.
Design it well. Build it well. Take feedback well. Then it should run well.

Overall, I am very happy with this device.
I have had cheap devices in similar roles that have not delivered good performance. But the video looks great.
I won’t dare call THIS device “cheap”, but the price is highly reasonable.

So, given that Anker and the ROAV team seem to take feedback seriously, I will write this review in hopes that they will incorporate some of this feedback. Hopefully, I will replace this product with their next product(or at least get a software update out of it for this device).

CONCEPT - Good. Form factor is reasonable. It is getting to the point where the device does not need the screen. Push the video thru wifi to adjust the picture(aim the device) and call it done. I don’t really use the screen. An adjustable camera lens, an SD slot, USB power, and wifi control would give the minimalist their bliss. Focus on a good app and don’t spend the effort developing a touch screen interface and touch screen.

INSTALL - Just barely fit behind my rear view mirror. I was able to install a 12v to USB supply into the mirror to provide 12v accessory enable for the camera. Very clean install. I think on the front there is some orange silk screened “Wifi” and “FULL HD 1080P” text that does not need to be on there. I want the install to be discrete so if I have my windows down(Jeep…and top off and doors off) that the passer by won’t notice my discrete install.

HARDWARE - Excellent video. Night driving with headlights is clean and clear. Night offroading looks fantastic. Power button seems excessively large. LED that blinks should be up higher on unit for visibility. Minor gripes.

SOFTWARE - Here is where I think that it can be improved for Capturing and Retrieving images.