Computer Engineer vs Computer Science

Hey guys,
I am currently a college student who is majoring in engineering but not sure what kind. I was leaning towards computer engineering but then a friend told me to do computer science instead. I know the community here is fully of people who have jobs in the engineering and computer science fields and I was hoping you guys could help me figure out with what the difference is and what a day in the life of either one is really like. Thanks again!

2 Likes

I think it will depend on what you wish to do. While my degree is in EE, I still need to understand software and hardware since today’s field usually meshes both. This isn’t an inhibitor towards what you wish to do, since there are people here that do software programming with an engineering degree, as well as hardware (FPGA) with a computer science degree. My best advice would be to get the degree that would give the most versatility, then when you get into the field you can specialize after the fact. Engineering degrees have a tendency to open more doors but teach more hardware, but you still learn software (science portion).

https://www.itcareerfinder.com/articles/computer-science-vs-computer-engineering.html

I hope this helps, but keep in mind there most likely will not be a wrong answer, just an increased challenge if you end up focusing on the aspects you covered in less detail.

1 Like

You need to be BOTH!

Science : A lot of mathematics is requested.

Engineering: More practical stuff, programming, administration etc.

But meanwhile I see that the whole thing is a “black box”!
You put something in this box and get a result which you like and
it seems to be true.
You do the next attempt , same data, same box, the result is another.

What can you do: Quite nothing.
Even you wrote that program by yourself you are using many libraries and other things you are embedded in.
It’s really a black box:
Try and Error… Plug and Pray.