Suggestion for a new laptop

Hey guys, hope you all are doing well. So a couple days ago my laptop’s hard drive started having problem with crazy high response time. I ran some built-in diagnostics and malware scan but nothing changed. 2 days ago my laptop didn’t start correctly so I watched a couple videos and turns out my laptop’s hard drive failed.

Now I’m in the market for a new laptop and I’m a CS student and will graduate in about a year. My previous laptop was Dell Inspiron 15 5000 Series and am looking at some better laptops. I asked a couple of my friends and they recommended me some variety of laptops out there which started confusing me so thought it was better to ask someone in the field to see if some laptops out there are even worth the extra money.

My confusion is that I’m not very sure if 256 GB SSD is enough. If I want to future proof myself, should I go with 512 GB of SSD? Also, I would like to stick to Windows 10 and 15" laptop screen because I’m used to Windows 10 (so 1 thing less I need to focus on instead of learning MacOS as well) and 15" screen is good for split screening (at least better than 13").

So for people who are in CS fields here, should I spend extra money on something like XPS or go with their cheaper option of Vostro or Inspiron? My budget is pretty tight but if spending $1500 gets me something that will last me longer, I’m willing to spend that much instead of sticking to around $1000-$1100. Thanks a lot for the help in advance!

Oh and I hope this is alright to put here since it is in General Discussion category

3 Likes

That’s quite a lot, but I remember your are a student, there is always a lot to be stored .
And this WIN10 takes > 20GB (Nobody can tell you why :rofl:)

Seems your HD is really broken.
Hope you saved all your data. :wink:
IIf the other hardware is OK you could try to swap the disk only.

We were always using LNVO at the university.
These were perfect in the old days.