Comparison: Soundcore Liberty Air vs. Liberty Neo vs. Airpods

First, thanks @AnkerOfficial for the Back to School Giveaway | Take a Trip Down Memory Lane and Win!. This review was not an obligation for winning the giveaway, but I thought I’d do one anyway. My everyday earbuds are the Liberty Air. The Airpods belong to my wife. And I just opened up the Liberty Neo and charged it up. I’ll be doing a quick comparison for sound quality and comfort.

1. PHOTOS

Setting up, I needed some power. Provided by PowerPort Strip 3 and PowerCore 26800.

The Soundcore Liberty Neo all charged up:

Naked Soundcore Liberty Neo:

Physical comparison to Apple Airpods (1st Gen) and Soundcore Liberty Air:

2. SOUND

I started with the Liberty Air as this is my baseline. I’ve been using it regularly for almost six months now. I get a nice round sound with decent bass for earbuds. I then tried the Liberty Neo. Initially, it was slightly underwhelming. The sound was not nearly as full as the Air and the bass was noticeably lacking (relative to the Air). I went back and forth between the two for 15 minutes, listening to Africa by Toto, Don’t Stop Me Now by Queen, and Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto featuring Joshua Bell (YouTube link for reference; I have these ripped as high quality MP3s on my iPhone XR). Comparing the two side by side, I’d pick the Air every single time. BUT. But when I just leave the Neo on for a while and forget about the Air, I don’t really miss the Air. The Neo sound quality is sufficient. But when I replace the Neo with the Air, it’s an instant, noticeable upgrade.