Researchers hacked a robotic vacuum cleaner to record speech and music remotely

Interesting article.

1 Like

Not our 11S ( Mary, Duchess, Astroboy and old Willy)
They are too clever to get hacked. :joy:

1 Like

Indeed @Chiquinho
No one can hack my Mary.
But to be fair, most homes have enough “connected” devices not to worry about having an additional unit hacked.

2 Likes

I don’t have one but they would just record me talking to myself

Or just don’t have carpet in your house :joy:

Exactly, Google is listening via your phone, Apple listening, Amazon listening. One more does little additional harm.

I’ve been a developer now for 39 years and not trusted technology for about 27 years once I realised how little checks are done on code. As a test I put some harmless but not required code and it passed audit, then years later did a test to trigger the code and “hello oh master how may I do your bidding” response proved it was still in there.

Best assume anything with electricity is tracking you.

3 Likes

George Orwell!

I’m aware of his stories.

I think in reality the problems seeded now will come back later. Google is not deleting anything, so 10 years from now someone can retrospectively say you did something.

I don’t believe in paranormal mumbo jumbo “woo” rubbish but I suspect at some point a future artificial intelligence will be trawling the mundane now and making predictions from it, an AI version of the film