Powerdrive 2 Alloy Review πŸ‘

Disclaimer: I received the Powerdrive 2 Alloy as part of the We Love Testing program.

This is my first review on the forums (although I have been writing Amazon reviews on and off for a few years) and I would appreciate any feedback on where I can improve.

I’ll start with the packaging. I have to say I’m a fan of the white and blue embossed cardboard packaging that Anker has been using, it gives a high-end feel that I’d be comfortable giving to a friend or family member as a gift while being fairly easy to recycle.

As you can see in this picture the package is almost completely paper except for the soft plastic bag holding the charger. Obviously the recyclability will depend on the specific system where you are. Paper is fairly universal and in my case the bag goes in the same stream as plastic shopping bags. I really appreciate this as I order a lot of stuff online and it is sad to have to send garbage bags of unrecyclable envelopes and packaging to the dump when it can be so easily avoided. The worst culprits are the pvc plastic boxes often used for things sold in stores and the paper/plastic envelopes used by Amazon :triumph:. Well done to Anker on this one.

Anyway, enough of my packaging rant, on to the product. :laughing:

The car charger is an odd category because it tends to be placed in a car and left there, no reason to be buying a new one every year or anything like that. Also, for some reason, there seems to be a lot of junk on Amazon (even more than usual haha) when it comes to car accessories, even amongst items with prime shipping. In contrast this charger looks and feels great. The metal gives it a nice weight and you can see the front panel (the only part that will be visible) in this picture.